Holy Trinity Church was built in 1848 to serve the community of Milford and Makeney. This church of great design for a small mill village lies high above the River Derwent and can be seen clearly as traffic hurtles past on the A6. The land was given by the Strutt Estate and the beautiful, now Grade II listed church cost about £2500 to build.
Holy Trinity stands proudly with unique rows of mill cottages now in the Derwent Valley Mills Heritage Corridor and part of a World Heritage Site.
Sadly the future of this church is uncertain. At present a small congregation meets once a fortnight on a Sunday for a service at 9.00. However the upkeep and refurbishment is well beyond the current resources. Because it is a listed building there is little that can be altered; as custodians of this church we need to take great care of it, and ensure it continues to be used for the benefit of the local community.
We have much to be thankful for with a beautiful and peaceful church. It holds a special place in the hearts of many villagers. Over the years we have seen many weddings and baptisms. We have celebrated people’s lives and enjoyed Harvest suppers and Christmas services.